2023 NCMC Awards Program 

(Awards for work in 2022 will be presented at the March 2023 Conference.)

Nominations are now being accepted for the North Carolina Museums Council 2023 Awards. The application process is easy and all online! The deadline for nominations is January 31, 2023.

NCMC seeks to highlight excellence across North Carolina in exhibitions and programs with its awards program. NCMC Awards provide a vehicle for promoting North Carolina museums and related institutions through media news releases, membership, and fund-raising campaigns. Award recognition can also reinforce the quality of a museum's initiatives and accomplishments in grant proposals and other documents.

DEAI Award

The DEAI Award recognizes NCMC’s commitment to the principles of diversity, equity, accessibility, and inclusion (DEAI) across the museum field. This award seeks to celebrate organizations and programs advancing the field internally and externally through exhibits, programs, and audience engagement.

DEAI Nomination Form (links to online form)

Awards of Excellence

The NCMC Award of Excellence is intended to honor those exhibits, publications and programs that exemplify excellence in the museum field. This competition showcases the best in our profession and in doing so promotes excellence and professionalism across the state. There is now a category within the Award of Excellence to reflect excellence in online programming through exhibits, programs, and other web-based offerings during the COVID 19 pandemic. Nominations for the Awards of Excellence must have been completed during the 2020 calendar year. Up to three awards will be presented for outstanding programs at the 2022 conference.

Awards of Excellence Nomination Form (links to online form)

Professional Service Award

The NCMC Professional Service Award shall be presented to any individual currently employed at a North Carolina museum that has distinguished him/herself in the museum field and/or have professionally advanced the role of museums or that of the North Carolina Museums Council.

Professional Service Award Nomination Form (links to online form)

Dennis T. Lawson Memorial Award

The Dennis T. Lawson Memorial Award honors deceased members and supporters of the museum profession in North Carolina. The award was created in 1987 in honor of Dennis T. Lawson, director of the High Point Museum and Historical Park, a respected and admired colleague who died suddenly and unexpectedly during the preceding year.

Lawson Memorial Award Nomination Form (links to online form)

Award of Special Recognition

The NCMC Award of Special Recognition honors an individual, group, or business affiliated with a museum in North Carolina who has demonstrated significant interest and support in the programs, goals, and policies or made significant contributions of time, money, or ideas to a museum in the state.

Special Recognition Award Nomination Form (links to online form)

William T. Alderson Lifetime Achievement Award

The William T. Alderson Lifetime Achievement Award is established to recognize retired (still living) museum professionals for a lifetime of service to demonstrate NCMC's respect and admiration for the body of work they accomplished in their career. This award may be presented to one individual each year. In addition to standard award recognitions, Alderson Award winners will receive a special gift.

Lifetime Achievement Award Nomination Form (links to online form)

For more information on our Awards programs, please email our Awards Chair, LeRae Umfleet, at awards@ncmuseums.org.

The North Carolina Museums Council is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization.
PO Box 2603, Raleigh, NC 27602-2603
Copyright 2018 - present.

Privacy Policy

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software